Date: 27th July 2011 at 2:58pm
Written by:

Cardiff City have released the official squad numbers for the coming season with few big surprises. Kenny Miller gets Bothroyd’s number 9 shirt, Conway replaces Burke at 11 while there is a strong indication of Filip Kiss’ likely contribution as the loanee is given the number 4 shirt vacated by Gavin Rae.

There was a space at 8 given Chopra’s sale to Ipswich – this goes to former Watford man Don Cowie while the only significant squad demotions go to Steve McPhail, handed the number 37 shirt in place of the coveted 10 he wore for so long (Earnie gets 10, while 3 + 7 = 10 suggesting McPhail picked the new number).

Lee Naylor was unsuprisingly ousted from the number 3 position, despite a decent showing in pre-season thus far. Former Middlesbrough full-back Andrew Taylor is the new number 3.

Gyepes is repalced at 6 by the returning Anthony Gerrard, giving the strongest indication yet that Mackay sees Hudson/Gerrard as his preferred defensive duo. The full list is available here.